Harvard thumbnail mapping change/fix

Description

From: Scott Williams <scott@dp.la>
Date: Thursday, August 6, 2020 at 11:13 AM
To: "Gogel, Wendy M." <wendy_gogel@harvard.edu>, "ingest@dp.la" <ingest@dp.la>
Cc: Michael Della Bitta <michael@dp.la>, Shaneeˊ Murrain <shanee@dp.la>, "Venti, Vanessa" <vanessa_venti@harvard.edu>, "Wendler, Robin" <robin_wendler@harvard.edu>, "Wones, Suzanne" <suzanne_wones@harvard.edu>
Subject: Re: Missing Thumbnails in Harvard Harvest

Hi Wendy --

This looks like it needs to be a mapping change on our part to also include occurrences within the <mods:relatedItem type="constituent"> parent. I can add a ticket for this work and get it implemented before your next ingest.

 

Please let me know if you have questions or concerns.

 

With thanks,
Scott

 

 

 

On 8/5/20 9:56 AM, Gogel, Wendy M. wrote:

Hi, Scott -

 

Vanessa and Robin looked into the issue of the missing thumbnails (thank you both!).

 

From what we can tell in most of the cases, if the thumbnail link appeared in a <mods:relatedItem> element it was not converted into the DPLA record.

 

In the Harvard OAI MODS records, links to thumbnail images will be identifiable in one of two places:

 

1. <mods:location><mods:url displayLabel=”Thumbnail”>

OR

2. <mods:location><mods:url access="preview">

 

Often both attributes are present in the <mods:url> element, but either is sufficient. The parent <mods:location> element can appear at the MODS root level or within a parent element <mods:relatedItem type="constituent">. It does not matter whether these thumbnail/preview <url> elements appear within the same parent MODS <location> as the <mods:url access="object in context"> elements.”

 

If this is the problem, should this go into our mapping or our dashboard?

 

Don't hesitate to let us know if you have any questions.

 

Thank you,

 

--Wendy

 

Wendy Marcus Gogel

Manager of Digital Content and Projects

Harvard Library Digital Strategies and Innovation

wendy_gogel@harvard.edu

 

 

Assignee

Unassigned

Reporter

Scott Williams

Labels

None

Epic Link

None

Priority

Medium
Configure